Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Kolkata Police Summons 3 More BJP MLAs for ‘National Anthem Insult’

Photo: X

The Kolkata Police has summoned three additional BJP MLAs, including Tufanganj MLA Malati Rava Roy, Shaltora MLA Chandana Bauri, and Natabari MLA Mihir Goswami, for allegedly disrespecting the National Anthem. The summonses are scheduled for Tuesday.

Earlier, five BJP MLAs were summoned to Lalbazar on Monday. The Kolkata Police Intelligence Department visited the Legislative Assembly on Saturday to investigate the incident, reviewing CCTV footage and engaging with assembly security personnel.

An FIR has been filed against 16 BJP MLAs for disrespecting the national anthem, with eight of them summoned. Detectives have said that they are collecting information about the case, focusing on gathering digital evidence. They also inspected the distance from the Ambedkar statue to the car porch of the Vidhan Sabha as part of their investigation.

On November 30, Trinamool MLAs staged a dharna at the foot of Ambedkar’s statue in the Assembly. During that time, BJP MLAs were sitting on a dharna on the car porch just opposite. On the first day, even after the announcement and singing of the National Anthem in the presence of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, no BJP MLA stood up.

Reacting to the issue, BJP MLA Sankar Ghosh said, “Nothing is surprising in this. The state has been handed over to the police during the Trinamool regime.”

Trinamool spokesperson Kunal Ghosh also commented on the matter and said, “What the BJP has done in the assembly is a cheap play to gain publicity. What else can be expected from a party whose leader is flawed?”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


With mob lynching incidents increasing, minorities in India now regularly confront news of violence or fear of being targeted next, resulting in societal numbness...


On June 9 at 7:30 PM, BJP leader Narendra Modi was sworn in as the 15th Prime Minister of India for the third time....


A video showing BJP workers celebrating their candidate’s recent victory has gone viral, causing distress in Karopadi village. The video captures the workers chanting...


Prime Minister Narendra Modi, 73, took the oath of office today for his third consecutive term, along with 71 ministers of the new coalition...