Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Narendra Modi to be Sworn in as Prime Minister for Third Term

pm modi third term
Photo: Narendra Modi/Meta

Narendra Modi is set to be sworn in as Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term on Sunday, June 9. The swearing-in ceremony, scheduled for 7:15 PM, will take place in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan. President Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Modi and his cabinet. Security will be tight, with five companies of paramilitary personnel, NSG commandos, drones, and snipers deployed.

Dignitaries from India’s neighbouring countries and the Indian Ocean Region will attend the ceremony. Confirmed attendees include Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Seychelles Vice-President Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, and Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay.

Prachanda will be accompanied by his daughter Ganga Dahal, Minister for Law, Justice, and Parliamentary Affairs Padam Giri, and other high-ranking officials from Nepal.

Discussions among BJP leaders and allies are ongoing to finalize the allocation of ministerial positions within the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Senior BJP figures such as Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, and party president JP Nadda are in talks with allies like N Chandrababu Naidu of the Telugu Desam Party, Nitish Kumar of JD(U), and Eknath Shinde of Shiv Sena.

In the recent Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured 240 seats, falling short of a parliamentary majority in the 543-member House. However, the NDA collectively secured 293 seats. The Congress secured 99 seats.

Following the ceremony, BJP President JP Nadda is expected to host a dinner for all NDA leaders and party officials.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test (NEET), a pivotal examination for medical course admissions, has ignited a storm of criticism against the Centre, sparking protests nationwide...


The Islamic Centre of India (ICI) has released guidelines for those planning to perform animal sacrifices during the upcoming Eid ul Azha festival on...


On June 9 at 7:30 PM, BJP leader Narendra Modi was sworn in as the 15th Prime Minister of India for the third time....


The Congress party expressed scepticism on Tuesday regarding the allocation of the Parliamentary Affairs portfolio, suggesting it signals no intention from Prime Minister Narendra...