Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


BJP’s Burqa Checks Aim to Harass and Obstruct Muslim Women Voters: Owaisi

Owaisi Muslim women Burqa
Photo: AIMIM/Meta

The controversy surrounding the BJP’s demand for thorough verification of women voters wearing burqas has intensified with AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi’s strong condemnation. Owaisi accused the BJP of targeting Muslim women and creating obstacles for them in the voting process. He said that the Election Commission already has established rules for voter verification, making the BJP’s demand appear as a targeted attempt to harass Muslim women.

On X (formerly Twitter), Owaisi wrote, “The Delhi unit of the BJP has told the Election Commission that there should be a special checking of women in burqa. During the recent Lok Sabha elections in Telangana, their candidate publicly insulted and harassed Muslim women. In every election, the BJP finds some excuse or the other to harass and target Muslim women. The Election Commission has clear rules and regulations for women who do not observe purdah, whether they are in burqa or veil or mask, no one is allowed to vote without verification, so why did the BJP have to make such a special demand? Just target Muslim women, harass them and create obstacles in voting.”

Earlier, on Wednesday, a delegation from the Delhi BJP, led by MLAs Ajay Mahawar and Mohan Singh Bisht, met with the Chief Electoral Officer to demand the verification of women voters in burqas or face masks by female officials during the May 25 polling.

In a related incident, a case was registered against Madhavi Latha, the BJP candidate from the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat, after a video showed her checking the voter ID cards of Muslim women at a polling booth. The charges against her include sections 171C (undue influence at elections), 186 (obstructing public servant in discharge of public functions), 505(1)(c) (statements conducing to public mischief), and Section 132 of the Representation of the People Act.

Delhi’s voting on May 25 involves a heated contest between the BJP and the INDIA bloc, which includes the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Congress. The election will be conducted in a single phase across seven constituencies: Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi, South Delhi, and West Delhi. The results will be declared on June 4. The AAP and Congress are contesting in an alliance, with AAP fielding candidates in four seats and Congress in three.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


“We have been on the road for the last two days. All the belongings are spread on the ground. Children are crying in pain...

Hate Crime

On the night of June 15th, a right-wing mob attacked a madrasa in Telangana’s Medak district, resulting in injuries to at least eight people....


The National Council for Educational Research and Training’s (NCERT) new Class 12 political science textbook has stirred controversy by omitting direct mention of the...


In Mandla district of Madhya Pradesh, authorities have demolished the houses of 11 people as part of a crackdown on the “illegal beef trade’....